Mission Statement

The Culture Collection Yerseke (CCY) is a non-profit facility that is specialized in the cultivation of (marine) phototrophic microorganisms. The collection comprises unicellular algae (green algae and diatoms) and cyanobacteria. The collection now also extends to anoxygenic phototrophs and other bacteria that live in marine phototrophic communities such as microbial mats and biofilms or planktonic assemblages. CCY was established in 1997 by the Department of Marine Microbiology of the Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW), now the Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ), in Yerseke. CCY provides a platform for maintaining novel strains of microorganisms that have been isolated in the course of scientific research projects. These strains are maintained alive as cultures or cryo-preserved. CCY provides expertise on isolation, cultivation, and identification of novel strains and on their cryo-preservation. The collection is available to academic and commercial parties, except when agreements about specific strains prevent this.